Posted by: Lauren Gaskill | Making Life Sweet | December 2, 2010

Better Than Garmin


Weather in Muncie has been completely sporadic lately. Tuesday I felt warm walking to class in my North Face, but three hours later it was snowing and I found myself longing for a hat to shield my face from the bone chilling wind.  Today, fluffy flakes fell from the sky at a frequent and majestic rate.  This bipolar weather is a mirror to how life has been for me lately.  One moment I am comfortable and feel like I have it all under control, but the next moment I find myself lost without a compass or any recollection of how I got there.  I feel like the progress I am making in life has been so marginal lately, that I am starting to wonder if it even measures up to anything.

There are two weeks left in the Fall 2010 semester here at Ball State.  If I am honest, there are days that I don’t really know what I am doing.  I constantly wonder if I am making the best professional, financial, relational and emotional choices.

All of these shifts in judgment and thought makes it hard for me to decide if I am making the right choices.  I am finding this to be a problem because life is made up of decisions; you cannot escape them.  Lately it seems the decisions I make hold heavier weight; there is a sense of urgency to everything I do.  My uncertainty makes it difficult to draw realistic conclusions.

In the midst of all of this uncertainty and fragility, the only thing I have to look to is my compass, which is Jesus Christ.  As a human, I can never fully know if I am making the right decision; I can never fight my way out of the lost and frightening forests I find myself in.  But luckily, with God as my compass, I have a shot at navigating my way through life’s storms and roadblocks.  I don’t think uncertainties ever fade from our lives, but I believe if we ask God for understanding and guidance, he is quick to bring us a new perspective.

Are the winds of change and uncertainty swirling around you like the snow that is falling outside?  Trust in the only navigation system that has the power to rescue us.  This navigation system is not offered through a Garmin or TomTom but through the loving arms of Jesus Christ.

And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  {Philippians 4:7}

Snow begins to form outside my dorm room early Wednesday morning.  The first day of December brought plenty of snow and delighted many as they walked to class.
Responses

  1. thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

