Posted by: Lauren Gaskill | Making Life Sweet | March 22, 2011

Tick Tock


With only six weeks left in the semester, it is hard to believe how fast freshman year flew by.

Move in day was brutal; I didn’t know what to expect.  Ball State was a whole new world, full of freedoms I had never dreamed of.  Freshman year stretched before me like an endless journey, with summer far over the horizon near the finish line. During the first month or so, I dreamed of the comforting familiarity that came with living in Elkhart for 18 years.  It was hard to leave my roots, but it was definitely time for me to breakaway; because at one point or another, everyone has to learn to fly.

Here in Muncie I have learned to spread my wings, take big risks and make new roots.  It wasn’t easy, and at times I questioned my intentions for being a college student.  But questioning of all kinds was inevitable.  For example: is my major what I really want to do?  Do I really need to go to college?  Should I get involved with student organizations even though it might make life stressful?  In my case, the answer to all three of those questions was yes.

I look back on freshman year happy to have made the most out of it.

I look back and see struggle.
I see heartache and trouble.
But then I see friends and family,
To pull me from the rubble

I see a girl trying to find her way
In a world that seems so afraid
But then I see the hand of God
that has left me so blessed and amazed.

Freshman year is nearing its end
With homework and tests yet to attend
But as the final weeks tumble one-by-one
I will thank God for the memories that have made it so much fun.

To my wonderful friends here at Ball State, I will miss you so much this summer!!
Muncie is my home now, because of you guys.  I am looking forward to three more wonderful years with all of you.

To my friends from Elkhart. We’ve got 3 1/2 months together; let’s make the most of them!

I know this post comes kind of early… I realize we still have around six weeks of school left.  But time has proven itself to fly faster as time goes on, especially towards the end of the school year.  Like the janitors at my elementary school would always tell me, “life gets faster as you get older, Lauren.”

My hope is that time will be kind to us all this summer.  I hope everyone enjoys their break, and gets plenty of relaxation in.  Soak up some rays, take a road trip!  Whatever you do, just be thankful for the much needed time off, because it’ll be back to the books soon enough.  I haven’t decided what I want to do with this blog for the summer (I might have a theme!!), but keep coming back to check my posts.  I love you all, God Bless.

Lauren Hardy

Leave a Reply

Categories

